Story Research

Since my video game plot revolves around a World War 2 pilot, I have been doing a fair bit of research on aviation during the war.  Since our pilot finds himself in a bit of trouble and needs to perform an emergency landing, I felt it was important to get his dialogue for that moment to be as convincing as possible.  Luckily, I found a handy PDF document with distress call protocol for military pilots!  This can be found online: here. [Link accessed 3 August 2017]

I released, on finding this document, that I would need a vessel name for the pilot’s plane.  I eventually decided to use a genuine WW2 airplane name: P3408 VY-K of the No. 85 Squadron, Church Fenton, Yorkshire.  While I am not striving for absolute historical accuracy in my game, I chose this plane because it was in use by the RAF during the correct time period.

p3408

P3408 in flight. [Accessed 3 August 2017]

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

